Monthly Archives: January 2015
Have you or someone you’ve known been charged with theft in Tampa, Florida? This charge can have a far-reaching impact on the rest of your life in terms of your livelihood, housing qualifications, and how society perceives you in general. When facing a charge like theft, it is important to know the laws where one will be prosecuted and how one can defend his case. For example, penalties for theft vary depending on the degree of the charge. Degrees are determined largely by the property value of the items allegedly taken. For stolen property between $100 and $300, Florida will prosecute a first time offender with petit theft, which is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to sixty days of prison and a fine up to $500. Other factors can increase the severity of penalties incurred by the defendant, if convicted. For instance, if the property is taken from a premise other than a home, the charge will elevate to a theft charge in the first degree. More serious grand theft charges are felonious in nature. The prosecution pursues felony theft charges against defendants accused of stealing property valued at or above $300. Differences in penalties arising under misdemeanor and felony theft charges vary drastically depending on the degree of the alleged crime and the criminal history of the offender. If you or someone you know is facing a theft charge of any type, contact the Law Office of Ameen & Shafii to begin fighting your charge. Andrew Shafii, Esq. and Mustafa Ameen. Esq. are former prosecutors who have the experience and knowledge to help you defend your case. Call us today at 813-236-4357 for your free criminal consultation!
Image credit: ammentorp
A first-time DUI offender will not be sentenced to more than 6 months of jail time. Keep in mind the average sentencing for a first time offender will increase with exacerbating factors. For example, factors such as having a minor in the vehicle or a Blood Alcohol Level of .15 can land a first-time DUI offender a maximum sentence of 9 months.
Q. What are the sentencing averages for a second-time DUI conviction? How does this change if the DUI convictions are in close range of one another?
Second-time DUI offenders will not serve more than 9 months in jail. Exacerbating factors will increase this type of sentence to up to one year. If the second DUI conviction is received within a 5-year- span, imprisonment of at least 10 days is mandatory.
When appropriate, DUI sentences can be served alternatively in a rehabilitation facility at the court’s discretion. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, call the experienced former prosecutors at the Law Office of Ameen and Shafii at 813-436-4357 today for your free consultation.
Image credit: Wavebreak Media Ltd