August 2017 M T W T F S S « Apr 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31
A. The difference between these two charges is separated by what act or acts characterize the assault, and what means are used to carry it out. “Assault” is defined as an intentional, unlawful threat by word or act, to do violence to another person coupled with the apparent ability to do so, and the doing of some overt act that creates a well founded fear in the victim that such violence is imminent. [Florida Statute 784.011]. ” Aggravated assault” is an assault committed with a deadly weapon.. [Florida Statute 784.021].
Q. What types of charges and sentencing are associated with these crimes?
A. In the State of Florida, a simple assault charge is a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to sixty days in jail and aggravated assault is a third degree felony that punishable by up to five years. Other circumstances associated with this crime, however, may substantially increase that sentence.
If you or someone you know has been charged with any form of assault, you need an aggressive criminal attorney that will defend your rights. Andrew Shafii, Esq., and Mustafa Ameen, Esq. are former prosecutors who are knowledgeable about these crimes and are dedicated to helping you face the serious consequences associated with them. Call 1-800-436-4357 for a free consultation.
Image credit: iofoto
Have you or someone you’ve known been charged with theft in Tampa, Florida? This charge can have a far-reaching impact on the rest of your life in terms of your livelihood, housing qualifications, and how society perceives you in general. When facing a charge like theft, it is important to know the laws where one will be prosecuted and how one can defend his case. For example, penalties for theft vary depending on the degree of the charge. Degrees are determined largely by the property value of the items allegedly taken. For stolen property between $100 and $300, Florida will prosecute a first time offender with petit theft, which is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to sixty days of prison and a fine up to $500. Other factors can increase the severity of penalties incurred by the defendant, if convicted. For instance, if the property is taken from a premise other than a home, the charge will elevate to a theft charge in the first degree. More serious grand theft charges are felonious in nature. The prosecution pursues felony theft charges against defendants accused of stealing property valued at or above $300. Differences in penalties arising under misdemeanor and felony theft charges vary drastically depending on the degree of the alleged crime and the criminal history of the offender. If you or someone you know is facing a theft charge of any type, contact the Law Office of Ameen & Shafii to begin fighting your charge. Andrew Shafii, Esq. and Mustafa Ameen. Esq. are former prosecutors who have the experience and knowledge to help you defend your case. Call us today at 813-236-4357 for your free criminal consultation!
Image credit: ammentorp
In most circumstances, the Judge in your case has issued a no contact order. This means that you are not allowed to contact the alleged victim in the case by any means, in person, call, text, email or through a third person. This can create a problem in situations where you and the alleged victim have children in common or need to communicate to resolve some issue. If the alleged victim does want to communicate with you or attempts to contact you, DO NOT contact them back. Get in touch with our office and we can get the Judge to modify the no contact order. This will allow you to legally communicate with each other. If you violate the no contact order, the Judge can hold you in contempt of court and/or revoke your bond and take you back into custody. There is a specific court division that handles domestic violence cases. Mustafa Ameen was assigned there as an Assistant State Attorney and understands the complexities of these kinds of cases. Contact Ameen and Shafii, former prosecutors and criminal defense attorneys from Tampa to discuss your case further.
Q. Are there any viable defenses to a domestic battery charge?
There are several defenses and technicalities that can defeat a domestic battery charge. The most commonly used is self defense. A common misconception is that If the alleged victim does not want to go forward with the case that the Assistant State Attorney will dismiss it. This is not the case. The decision to go forward or dismiss the charge is up to the Assistant State Attorney, not the alleged victim. However, if the alleged victim does not want to go forward with the case, here at Ameen and Shafii we know how to frame the case to get a dismissal. We are experienced Tampa criminal defense attorneys and will fight your domestic violence charge.
Q. How will a charge of this nature affect my future?
Having a domestic violence charge on your record is a serious matter. Employers will see that you have a propensity for violence and will be very reluctant to hire you. The best thing to do is to fight your Tampa domestic violence charge by calling The Law Office of Ameen and Shafii at 813-436-4357. We have helped thousands of clients fight their Tampa criminal charges and have the experience and passion to defend you.
Image credit: lightwise / 123RF Stock Photo
What Can I Expect if I am Stopped by Law Enforcement While driving on a Suspended License From a DUI Charge
If you get caught driving on a suspended license from a DUI charge in Hillsborough County, you are likely to face a mandatory 10 day jail sentence if convicted. Surrounding counties usually impose more severe penalties which guarantee anywhere from a mandatory 30-60 day jail sentence for driving on a suspended license incurred from a DUI charge. Attorney Andrew Shafii, advises, “Do not drive yours or anyone else’s vehicle while your license is suspended as a result of a DUI. Consequences are severe and include jail time in most cases. Multiple convictions for DUI and Driving with Knowledge of Suspended License (DWLS) charges also lead to enhanceable penalties and will have a lasting impact on an individuals ability to operate a vehicle in the future. These additional criminal charges will only compound the problem and may lead to a defendant becoming a habitual traffic offender.”
Q. How does one become a habitual traffic offender and what are the consequences?
Any combination of 3 DUI or DWLS convictions within a 5 year period will result in a habitual traffic offender label, and a mandatory 5 year suspension of one’s license will follow. If you or someone you know is facing multiple criminal traffic charges in Tampa, call the experienced former prosecutors at the Law Office of Ameen and Shafii today at 813-436-4357.
Image Source: 123ucas / 123RF Stock Photo
Police are able to search your vehicle if they have probable cause that a crime is being committed. The typical situation arises when an officer smells marijuana in the in vehicle or sees, in plain view, something illegal such as drugs. Additionally, if you are arrested, the police are permitted to search your vehicle for an inventory of the items within the vehicle. The police can seize any illegal items found during the course of that search. Remember, if something is found in your vehicle, it is best not to admit that it is yours. Instead, contact the Law Office of Ameen and Shafii immediately. We are on call 24 hours a day to handle your Tampa criminal charge.
Q. Can police search other intimate personal property such as cell phones, laptops, and other electronic devices without a warrant?
Generally, police need a warrant to search cell phones, laptops, and other electronic devices. However, if law enforcement believes evidence on the device will be immediately destroyed, they may conduct a search without a warrant. If you police have illegally searched your items, contact Tampa criminal attorneys Attorney Andrew Shafii, Esq. and Mustafa Ameen Esq. as soon as possible. They are former state prosecutors with the experience to help you defend your Tampa criminal charge.
Image credit: scottff72 / 123RF Stock Photo
Yes, Florida has a very harsh habitual traffic offender rule. There are multiple ways you can become a Habitual Traffic Offender and lose your license for 5 years.
Q. How does it work?
A. If you receive any combination of three driving while license suspended charges and/or driving under the influence within 5 years your license will be suspended for 5 years. For example, if you receive two driving while license suspended charges and one driving under the influence or if you receive three driving while license suspended charges within 5 years you will lose your license for 5 years.
Q. If charged as a habitual offender what should I expect?
A. If you have been charged with a third offense you should not plea to the charge because you will lose your license for 5 years. There are ways to convince the State Attorney to amend or reduce the charge to prevent the 5 year suspension. If this is your fourth offense and you have already been classified as a habitual traffic offender and lost your license for 5 years, we may be able to go back on a prior case to reduce or remove that charge. This will cause the habitual traffic offender status to be removed and you will be able to reinstate your license. There are several conditions and requirements to do this, so it is best to contact The Law Office of Ameen and Shafii to discuss your specific case. We are former prosecutors and Tampa criminal defense attorneys who have handled thousands of habitual traffic offender cases and can get you back on the road. Call 1-800-436-HELP today for your free consultation.
Image source: janpietruszk / 123RF Stock Photo
A. Carrying a concealed weapon in Florida is a third degree felony if it is a firearm and a first degree misdemeanor for non-firearms. However, there are several exceptions to this rule. These exceptions include if you have a concealed weapons permit, its on your property or your business property, or it is “securely encased” when outside of your home or business. In most circumstances, if you are charged with carrying a concealed weapon firearm, the State Attorney will attempt to place you on probation for 18 months and in non-firearm situations they will try to get 12 months probation. The terms of the probation and length will depend on your prior history and the specific circumstances of your case. However, there are several defenses to the charge, consult the Ameen and Shafii, who are Tampa criminal defense attorneys and former prosecutors to discuss your case.
Q. What if I was on my own property?
A. If you are on your own property or your business property, you cannot be charged with carrying a concealed weapon. This is one of the exceptions to the rule and allows you to defend your home and family.
A. As a first time offender with a felony drug charge, a defendant can expect to have his or her case directed into Drug Court, where one will find the option of participating in the Drug Pretrial Intervention Program or DPTI. If this program is successfully completed by the defendant, the felony charge will be dismissed.
Q. What are the conditions of the Drug Pretrial Intervention Program?
A. Conditions of DPTI supervision are much more intensive than traditional probation. The program is tailored to each defendant depending on his or her needs and may require any combination of weekly drug screenings, weekly and biweekly court dates, weekly check-ins with a probation officer, fees associated with supervision, and community service. If the court determines the defendant is in need of therapy, the participation and completion of counseling or rehabilitative programs may be required to satisfy the conditions of the DPTI program. Because of the flexibility associated with the program, it is often categorized as alternative sentencing.
Q. Once I’ve been sent to Drug Court how should I decide whether to accept the DPTI Program or pursue other options?
A. Criminal Defense Attorney Andrew Shafii says, “Deciding whether or not you should remain in the program or defer out depends primarily on your drug and criminal history, as well as the strengths and weaknesses of your case.” In other words, if your charge is an isolated instance and you do not have a drug problem, you should consider deferring out of the program. Additionally, if the evidence posed against you is weak, you should consult with an attorney. The experienced criminal attorneys at the Law Office of Ameen and Shafii are former prosecutors who want to discuss your case today. Call us at 813-436-4357 for your free consultation.
Image source: fedorkondratenko / 123RF Stock Photo
Is Your Criminal History Affecting Your Life? Seek an Expungement Today and Restore Your Reputation!
Aside from interfering with your personal and civil freedoms, being charged with a crime can have far-reaching repercussions that affect your reputation and livelihood beyond a judge’s final decision on your criminal case. In other words, once your case has closed, the record of your arrest and other details surrounding your alleged criminal activity is still available to the public. These records are still accessible even if you have fulfilled all necessary requirements to restore your liberties as you once knew them before you’d been initially charged. This negative mark on your name can affect your future and present eligibility for jobs, residency, and other important opportunities. However, seeking an expungement can be very valuable in eliminating or reducing the threat to your character.
Specifically, an expungement has the capability of restoring your reputation to what it was before your name became associated with criminal activity. For example, it is typical of potential employers, landlords, or loan agencies to explore your reputation through a simple Google search of your full name. Criminal activity associated with your name can raise red flags which keep you from being granted admission to schools, gaining employment, or being supplied with housing in desired communities. Seeking an expungement through an experienced Tampa criminal defense attorney can eliminate harm done to your character through a previous criminal charge.
If you are interested in improving your harmed reputation from a prior criminal charge, call the Law Office of Ameen & Shafii today at 1-800-436-HELP. The former prosecutors and experienced criminal defense attorneys at the Law Office of Ameen & Shafii can bring you many steps closer to restoring your public image though an expungement on your criminal case.
Image source: gunnar3000 / 123RF Stock Photo
When pulled over for a DUI, the officer may ask you to submit to a breath test designed to indicate whether your Blood Alcohol Concentration is above the legal limit of .08. Technically, this test is optional in Florida and law enforcement can’t force you to comply without your consent. If you are aware of this fact, you may be inclined to refuse a breathalyzer after you’ve had a few drinks. However, it is important to consider the lesser known consequences of initial and subsequent refusals in the state of Florida.
While saying “no” to the breathalyzer deprives prosecution of tangible evidence of your intoxication, it does not guarantee you won’t be convicted of a DUI after the fact. Your choice can be used against you in court where the State may claim your refusal indicated you were in fact, under the influence.
Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer in Florida can breed serious consequences. For instance, saying no to the test after getting pulled over for a suspected DUI the first time can result in getting your license administratively suspended by the DMV for up to one year. Second refusals result in 18 month license suspensions by the DMV. These suspensions are routine and separate from any sanctions the courts can impose if you’re found guilty of a DUI charge.
If you’re arrested for a DUI and refused to take a breath test in Tampa, you need to hire an experienced DUI attorney who can protect and defend your rights. Andrew Shafii, Esq. and Mustafa Ameen, Esq. are skilled former State prosecutors who gained useful knowledge of how the prosecution in Florida interprets evidence in DUI cases. Call The Law Office of Ameen and Shafii at 1-800-HELP (4357) for your free consultation today.
Image source: aijohn784 / 123RF Stock Photo